newport default

Planning Board & Staff

Per State law, a city's Planning Board “is the sole entity responsible for the preparation of a municipal comprehensive plan" (see RIGL subsection 45-22.2-8(a)(1)).  As such, the City of Newport Planning Board will be responsible for the Comprehensive Plan's development and will provide direction on the project.  The Planning Board will work with the City Planner and other City staff as needed to develop, review and ultimately approve the Comprehensive Plan update and forward recommendations to the City Council for their review and approval.

The current (December 2015) members of the City of Newport Planning Board are as follows:

  • Kim Salerno, Chair
  • Melissa Pattavina, Vice Chair
  • Liam Barry, Secretary
  • Timothy Burns
  • Tanya Kelley
  • Tod Murphy
  • John Oliveira
  • Brian Rochelle
  • Richard Rudd
City Staff:
  • Guy Weston, Zoning Official
  • Christine O’Grady, AICP, City Planner

Planning Consultant:

The City has engaged Matrix Design Group to assist them with the Comprehensive Plan update.  Matrix will work directly with the City Planner to carry out day to day tasks.